Spring seems to be slowly unfolding at last :)

Yet again I can’t believe how quickly the week has gone, I have found the energy and inclination to do quite a few jobs this week so maybe that’s why it has shot past.

Firstly I replaced the roof on the greenhouse, the one that collapsed during the gales towards the end of last year, the roof was all glass but I have replaced it with polycarbonate, firstly because I didn’t want the roof coming down again on my head while I was in there and secondly because it was cheaper and easier to fit. I had to straighten out the roof bars as the force of the wind had twisted them slightly, tighten up all the bolts to make the frame  strong again, I just have a couple of little triangle pieces to put in the ends and it will be ready for planting up salad leaves at the end of the month.

The second big job of the week was to fit two new blinds to the kitchen and bathroom window, which to my surprise I did with little swearing! They were quite easy to fit and I was very chuffed that I had managed them all by myself 🙂 

On the animal front this week we have said an emotional goodbye to Atherton who was the thoroughbred that we have had on loan for the past 3 years, his owner came and picked him up on Saturday afternoon, we shall miss him very much as he was the first fulltime ‘farm’ animal that we ever looked after. The sheep is doing very well this week, she is back out in the paddock and back to her usual routine of pestering me for feed every time she sees me, although there is a slight possibility that she is in lamb, I am not convinced so we will just have to wait and see.

The fox has made an appearance again this week, as we still have not been able to trap this one, I went up the back one day last week, and caught sight of him running across the corner paddock. I crept to a spot where I was sure he couldn’t see me and luckily I was up wind of him, I stood watching him for about 20 minutes while he was sat in the hedgeline watching my chickens, eventually he moved out in the paddock but by the time I got round the other side he was gone, needless to say I was on high alert for the rest of the day!

The eggs numbers are increasing daily again now and this morning I had my very Blue egg which was very exciting, for me anyway ;), It is funny how last week I was considering decreasing my duck numbers because the ducks lay very well but the demand is not there, then suddenly I have an increase in people wanting duck eggs, the power of thought is amazing, if only I could do that with a lottery win 😀

Spring is definitely on its way, the birds have begun to check out the holes in the side of the building ready for choosing a suitable nest, I have told Hubby that we will not be able to replace the wooden cladding until all the fledglings have vacated so that will be near the end of the summer before that job can be done. I was trying to count up the number of different birds that I have spotted over the last couple of months, it is becoming quite a little haven for them especially the small birds, we have Blue Tits, Coal Tits, Long Tailed Tits, Robins, Wrens, Woodpecker, Dunnocks, Sparrows, Thrush, Blackbird, Magpie, Collared Doves, Wood Pigeon, Buzzard, Red Kite, Bullfinches Goldfinches and spotted for the first time Greenfinches and Yellow Hammer.

The Snowdrops are a lovely arrival and the green stems of the daffodils are pushing up all over the place, the buds are swelling on the trees and hopefully it wont be long before everything bursts into life again, the Met office forecasts some warmer weather for the week coming and not before time too, although we are also in line for some gusty winds, I better hope that I have secured that new greenhouse roof properly!

Hubby had a bit of an unfortunate accident yesterday, he walked into the door but he had a plate and a steak knife in his hand, the plate fell on the floor and the knife went an inch and a quarter straight into his stomach! Luckily after a trip to A & E they decided that it had mostly gone into his spare tyre and although he is feeling sorry for himself he has not done any damage, just has a couple of stitches and some bruising, so today he is resting and I have to provide the TLC, I have heaped the sympathy on him but not before telling him what a prat he was 😉

Goodbye Atherton,  we will miss you.

One thought on “Spring seems to be slowly unfolding at last :)

Leave a Reply

