This weather is ridiculous ๐Ÿ˜œ

There I have said it, I have tried to refrain from moaning about the weather  over the last few months but honestly this would try the patience of a saint. It’s a good job I have held off of planting anything much in the garden, if I had put in spuds on good Friday as tradition tells us then they would be frosted a good few times by now. As it is the ones in the poly tunnel have suffered some nipping but they should recover, yesterday I covered all the plants in the greenhouse with fleece and it was a good job I did, the temps must have gone down well below freezing never mind frosty. We all know what will happen next, straight into high temperatures and sunshine causing havoc in the garden (could be a bit of wishful thinking there ๐Ÿ˜‰) 

I have sown a few rows of carrots and onions on the sunny/dry days, yes we did have some, but apart from that nothing else, instead I have concentrated on seed sowing in the greenhouse and poly tunnel. In the latter I have been harvesting raddish and lettuce, the peas are growing well as are a couple of rows of carrots and broad beans, the new potatoes are up and the spring onions are slowing unbending. In the greenhouse I have a bit of everything growing and have started potting on the runner beans ready for planting out in May, providing the temps go up of course and there is no guarantee of that! It is a waiting game but I hope it changes soon or summer is going to be short ๐Ÿ˜

Elsewhere on the farm Hubby has managed to break the tractor again, this time catching one of the hoses on a branch and snapping the fixing clean in half, I swear he does it to get out of any work ๐Ÿ˜‹ We had a chicken with a broken leg that we had to dispatch, I couldn’t work out how it had happened until the next day we found a dead chicken without a leg in the coop, the fox had been going underneath and getting at them through the narrow bars, this has now been covered in and no more leg problems. The geese are sitting on eggs so there are none for sale at the minute, I have known them since they were tiny but even I am not brave enough to go in there and get them off. The din they make when you go near them is high in decibels and I have to protect the back of my legs with a bucket as the males come running at me in a head down going in for a kill stance. 

As I mentioned, we have had some lovely sunny days and the scent from the blossom on the trees has wafted deliciously teasing us with what might be eventually, and on those days I have been hoeing and tidying and waiting but I feel like I have been doing it a bit too long now, everything is ready except for the weather. The horses are waiting to move paddocks as there is no point moving them onto new pasture if it’s going to rain constantly , it would end up looking just like the Winter paddock, the geese are looking on the thin side waiting for grass to emerge, they have been on pellet food all Winter and are longing to get the other side of the fence. The chickens however are doing just fine and we are getting plenty of eggs, trays of them in fact which I am trying to sell on various selling sites so that we don’t end up with a mountain of them. The rabbits are happy in their run although they keep trying to dig a warren, they dig it out, I fill it in, every day same scenario ๐ŸฐI am hoping I will be able to feed them plenty of beneficial weeds/herbs soon rather than mostly pellet feed, I have been buying them carrots and greens from the shop so they haven’t gone without but when I can pick my own for them I will feel much happier . 

Hubby is still getting over his accident, did I mention that? Probably not but he has, every day for the last few weeks, his van was written off and luckily he was ok apart from whiplash but it has meant that not much has got done for a while, then he had an abscess and a tooth out, put that together with the weather, did I mention that ๐Ÿ˜‰, progress has been slow outside, roll on warmer temperatures it will make everything feel so much better. In amongst all that we have had the arrival of our granddaughter who is totally gorgeous ๐Ÿ’• in all honesty I don’t care what the weather is like when our grandchildren visit because I would rather spend precious time with them than doing anything else ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Have a great week whatever the weather โ„๏ธโ˜”๏ธ๐ŸŒž๐ŸŒฆโšก๏ธ๐Ÿ’จ

Leave a Reply

